REVIEW: Anomaly Agent

Full Review of Anomaly Agent on Xbox Series S

Become Agent 70 and stop the anomalies threatening to destroy the balance of the world!

ABOUT THE GAME

– Released: Jan 24, 2024
– Price: $14.99
– Played on: Xbox Series S
– Also on: Xbox Series X, Xbox One, PS4 & 5, Switch and PC/Steam
– Developer: Phew Phew Games
– Publisher: NAISU

ANOMALY AGENT is a cyberpunk action-platformer featuring fluid combat, a time-bending story, quirky characters and a catchy synthwave soundtrack! Punch or shoot through mobs of enemies, impact the story with your choices and stop the anomalies before the world plunges into chaos!

FULL Review

This review is based on my complete playthrough of Anomaly Agent on Xbox Series S.

When I first saw Anomoly Agent all I knew is it had an interesting looking pixel art style and it was kind of a metroidvania-looking game. Not even five minutes into the game though and it’s great sense of humor and interesting story caught my full attention.

Moving further into the game, I began to learn more and more about its fighting system and just how intricate all of its combos, blocks, parries and dodges were. Frankly it’s still a bit overwhelming, but luckily the game is forgiving enough that you don’t have to master all of its techniques just to play, and the sheer variety of moves gives you a lot of options to keep it fresh.

That being said, the enemies can be a bit overwhelming at times, and death can come frequently and feel a tad cheap. Luckily, the game has frequent checkpoints that keep deaths from becoming too frustrating.

In the end, I found out I couldn’t stop playing Anomoly Agent, and I couldn’t wait to play it all the way through, which doesn’t happen too often these days. After rolling credits on it, I even began playing it’s New Game+ mode and if I didn’t have other games I need to play I would most certainly go through it again.

Pros

  • ✅ great stylized pixel art graphics
  • ✅ multiple attacks and combos make combat flexible and interesting
  • ✅ funny and interesting story
  • ✅ generous checkpoints compensate for cheap hits and overwhelming odds

Cons

  • ❌ cheap hits and overwhelming enemy groups can lead to frustrating deaths
  • ❌ with so many moves and upgrades it can almost be too much at times

Gameplay

[click above to view video]

Verdict

9

Strong thumbs up on this one. Anomaly Agent is a funny, interesting great looking and playing pixel art action platformer. Normally I wouldn’t have beaten a game like this so quickly but it’s fun enough I couldn’t stop playing until I was done (and even then I started the New Game + option after I was done)

Want the latest updates? Subscribe today!

Leave a comment